Jan 2013 - Media Academy graduates win RTS Scotland awards!


Graduates from Screen Academy Scotland Media Academy programmes at Edinburgh Napier and Edinburgh College of Art have won at  the prestigious film and TV competition run by the Scottish division of the Royal Television Society.

Edinburgh College of Art BA Film & TV graduate 2012 Kieran Gosney won the RTS for Best Fiction last night at a ceremony at BBC, Glasgow for his film Flashbulb . The film was produced by fellow graduate Kestrel Cheswick. Winning the Best Animation award was I Am Tom Moody by Ainslie Henderson BA Animation, Edinburgh College of Art, t's only a movie, also won an award in the Entertainment category for Ewan Denny and Team from Edinburgh Napier BA TV (City of Glasgow College delivery) .

The awards ceremony took place at BBC Scotland's Pacific Quay HQ in Glasgow. It was attended by almost 100 students, academics and industry professionals.

Edinburgh College of Art garnered four nominations, while  Edinburgh Napier University got two. Also competing for the top awards were the University of the West of Scotland and Aberdeen College.  There were 18 entries in four categories from six universities and colleges across Scotland which RTS Scotland says  – “are widely regarded as the most prestigious awards for student film and programme making in Scotland”.

The final list of nominees were

Undergraduate Animation

‘My Name is Tom Moody’, Ainslie Henderson, Edinburgh College of Art

‘How Can You Swallow So Much Sleep?’ Anna Ginsberg, Edinburgh College of Art

‘All That Glisters’, Claire Lamond, Edinburgh College of Art

Undergraduate Entertainment

‘The Late Show’, Gareth Malone, Stephanie Borman and Team, University of the West of Scotland

‘It’s Only A Movie’, Ewan Denny and Team, City of Glasgow College/ Edinburgh Napier University

Undergraduate Factual

‘On Another Note’, Emma Dove, Keiba Clubb, Juliet Hounam and Marina Gonzalez, University of Stirling

‘Free Rein’, Andrew Chambers, Fiona Gray, Bethany Lawrie, Sam Postlethwaite and Amy Saunders, University of Stirling

‘Charles Rennie Mackintosh’, Nicola Braid and Team, City of Glasgow College

Undergraduate Fiction

‘Fashion Victim’, Martin Taylor and Stephanie Dunnett, Aberdeen College

‘Flashbulb’, Kieran Gosney (Director) and Kestrel Cheswick (Producer), Edinburgh College of Art, Edinburgh University

‘Unnoticed’, Andrew Crane and Team, City of Glasgow College/Edinburgh Napier University